If you can see your path laid out in front of you step by step, you know it’s not your path. Your own path you make with every step you take. That’s why it’s your path.-—Joseph Campbell

The Listening Connection

The most basic and powerful way to connect to another person is to listen. Just listen. Perhaps the most important thing we ever give each other is our attention…. A loving silence often has far more power to heal and to connect than the most well-intentioned words.   Rachel Naomi Remen

1.  I begin my day with morning pages (see Julia Cameron’s The Artist’s Way).  Three pages of pieces of dreams, to do lists for the day, and general draining of unfinished business.  The tone of these pages is not the same as it was when I first started this practice.  Whiny rants aren’t as common anymore.  Insights and new ideas are becoming more obvious.  I like listening to this change in my voice.

2. Yesterday when my retired teacher friends and I met for our weekly “therapy” session at a local Mexican restaurant’s happy hour, an older woman looking for the “teacher group” joined us and immediately began sharing.  A lot.  None of us knew her, but we did what any good therapy group would do; we listened.  She told of her husband of 50 plus years who died 11 months ago, her years of teaching at the adult learning center in town, her grown children and grandchildren, and what it was like to be in the world at 77 years of age.  We connected…

What are your experiences with the listening connection?

Comments on: "The Listening Connection" (2)

  1. raven's witch said:

    when my counselor at the methadone clinic needed MY ear for once,cause she had had an ‘episode’. i was stunned but just listened and said what she’d have told me.btw..i’ve been off methadone for 1 1/2 years now.

  2. You’re correct in saying listening is so important, but I also find it to be somewhat of a lost art. It seems I know so few people now who can do it, and do it well, such that you lose yourself in their presence and open right up.
    I enjoyed Julia Cameron’s books, as you seem to have. I still try to do the morning pages but have fallen off the wagon a bit lately. I feel the need to hop back on.
    Also thanks for “like”ing my post “Study The Enemy”, I hope you enjoyed it.
    Take care,
    Dwayne

Leave a Reply

Listening to Learn

Learning to Listen

Listening for Lessons

A Teacher and her Writing Practice

Writing Is My Drink

slake your thirst; find your voice

EventsForChange

~ creative ideas for making a difference ~

...the house I live in...

A journal of life pursued

