If you can see your path laid out in front of you step by step, you know it’s not your path. Your own path you make with every step you take. That’s why it’s your path.-—Joseph Campbell

Ready for School

When the student is ready, the teacher will appear.   Buddhist proverb

It’s no surprise my mind is on teaching today. I’m rereading Siddhartha for book club tonight.  I will be leading the discussion and I want to be prepared.  The university where I facilitate alternative education certification seminars begins its fall semester next week. Yesterday I received  details about the GED writing workshops that I will be responsible for in October.

I was a public school teacher for 30 years before retiring in 2001. I wanted to be a writer, to write about my teaching experiences.  I was ready to put all those years of teaching language arts into practice.  But just as I was becoming comfortable in my “new” life as a writer, my only child died. Suicide. Why? Where did he go? What did I do to bring this on?  What could I have done differently? Questions I was only able to ask my notebook.

“Physician, heal thyself” (Luke 4:23) became “Teacher, instruct thyself.”  There was so much I needed to understand.

And I discovered the closer I became to the experience of death, the more I knew I wasn’t ready to let go of life. I needed to reconnect with the world I was once a part of.  To leave the safety of my “inner teacher” that was rapidly becoming isolationism. I could find other ways to learn.  I could find teachers wherever I was.

And that is where I am… and ready for the new school year.

Comments on: "Ready for School" (3)

  1. watchthatcheese said:

    I am so, so sorry. That is so terrible..

  2. Beautiful post. I’m sorry to hear about your son. Thank you for sharing with us your journey.

Leave a Reply

Listening to Learn

Learning to Listen

Listening for Lessons

A Teacher and her Writing Practice

Writing Is My Drink

slake your thirst; find your voice

EventsForChange

~ creative ideas for making a difference ~

...the house I live in...

A journal of life pursued

