If you can see your path laid out in front of you step by step, you know it’s not your path. Your own path you make with every step you take. That’s why it’s your path.-—Joseph Campbell

A Little Spark of Madness

You’re only given a little spark of madness. You mustn’t lose it.    Robin Williams

hand holding spark

This morning begins quite early.  2:21 to be exact.  The voices are demanding my attention again.  I could lie in bed and participate in the conversation like I did a few mornings ago, but instead I get out of bed, pick up my notebook and pen, start the coffee, and settle into my recliner.  It’s time to have today’s conversation on paper.

After a cup of coffee and three ranting, rambling, pontificating and whining pages, the voices are quieter.  I move to the computer to check on the world beyond my living room.  Hurricane Isaac is spinning toward New Orleans on the seventh anniversary of Katrina.  Presidential politics is sounding anything but presidential.  Only five of 24 interns have answered my email.  And I’m not sure what to say on this morning’s blog post.  Breathe, Laura.

I move back to the recliner and away from the news of the day.  I suspect the stirrings around me have something to do with the stirrings within me.  I sit still, concentrating on my breath and clearing my mind.

As the day dawns, I begin to make a to do list.  Halfway down the page I write “walk” and ten minutes later I’m heading to the nearest park.  Thoughts come, then go as I circle the park, breathing in the morning air.

Natalie Goldberg leads a silent workshop in Taos entitled “True Secret of Writing:  Sit, Walk, Write Retreat.”  I have participated in two of them.  The true secret of writing… how I will keep my little spark of madness from getting lost.

The telephone rings.  Jordan from Pro Computers wants to know if he can bring my computer out now and set it up.

My madness is back on track:)

Leave a Reply

Listening to Learn

Learning to Listen

Listening for Lessons

A Teacher and her Writing Practice

Writing Is My Drink

slake your thirst; find your voice

EventsForChange

~ creative ideas for making a difference ~

...the house I live in...

A journal of life pursued

