If you can see your path laid out in front of you step by step, you know it’s not your path. Your own path you make with every step you take. That’s why it’s your path.-—Joseph Campbell

Discovering My World

Your work is to discover your world and then with all your heart give yourself to it.
Buddha

It’s 2:30.  Another early morning, another chance to pay attention to what I might learn.  I get up, start the coffee and pick up my notebook.  But before I begin to write, I just sit, focusing on my breath.  A thought comes; I let it go. Another one.  I release it.  I’m ready to accept the awareness that the voices are here for a reason.  I’ve been trying too hard to quieten them, rather than to listen to them.  I pick up my notebook.  My world.

After writing a couple of pages I’m tired of my pen’s voice and turn on the computer.  Facebook?  No.  Email?  Not really.  I want a story and pull up Netflix.  In my queue is Creation, a British docudrama about Charles Darwin’s struggle to tell his story following the death of his child, Annie.  My world.

Yesterday, when I began feeling isolated, I called a close friend with the intention of telling her my troubles.  But she seemed to need to talk more than I, so I listened.  As I heard her concerns, frustrations, and downright fears, I heard myself.  My world.

And now my dog is throwing up all over the living room.  My world.

This is one side of the mural “Millennium” in downtown Shreveport.

Comments on: "Discovering My World" (3)

  1. Oh, overriding reality…

  2. Hello:

    Thanks for stoppingby my log and liking today’s weekly post. It gave me a chanceto check out your blog. I enjoyed my little tour around. I liked this quote from Buddha that you used and your commentary around it. Best of luck in the blogging world!

    Blessings!

Leave a Reply

Listening to Learn

Learning to Listen

Listening for Lessons

A Teacher and her Writing Practice

Writing Is My Drink

slake your thirst; find your voice

EventsForChange

~ creative ideas for making a difference ~

...the house I live in...

A journal of life pursued

