If you can see your path laid out in front of you step by step, you know it’s not your path. Your own path you make with every step you take. That’s why it’s your path.-—Joseph Campbell

What I Really Want to Do

Just don’t give up on trying to do what you really want to do. Where there is love and inspiration, I don’t think you can go wrong.”
– Ella Fitzgerald

Today’s the day, whatever that might mean.

First I will go for a yearly check in with my oncologist.  This is the seventh anniversary of being breast cancer free.

Then I will visit an anxious intern in her high school classroom.  I know she’s anxious because she has talked about it with her supervisor and me several times. Today I will  see what those words might mean.

Afterwards I will take my spiffy new computer (she needs a name)  to a coffee shop to tap out a story from this experience.

This, or something like this, is what I have really wanted to do for a long time.

1.  Thirty years ago I was advanced to candidacy in a Ph.D. program.  I wanted to teach teachers.  But I quit before I wrote the dissertation.

2.  Ten years ago I completed a collection of stories from my own classroom.  They reside in my writing room on a shelf.

3.  Today I will write again.  This time it will include academia, my own classroom and the experiences from the teachers I teach.

With love and inspiration.

Comments on: "What I Really Want to Do" (6)

  1. raven's witch said:

    i have 3 years and 6 months free of breast cancer (4-21-09) and am due for my mammogram and check up with my chemo doctor to. i hate those visits or more to the point i hate the wait for the results. i feel sick when i walk in there it’s like being punched in the stomach. so here’s to clean exams for us and others!

  2. You just made my day!!!! What a wonderful adventure you are on…Thanks for sharing.

  3. Such beautiful posts… I’m slowly savoring all of them. For me, anniversary dates like these can be powerful evolutionary points. I ‘shifted’ this last week. A welcome change is coming!

    By the way, I own an ancient computer system, his name is Icarus! 😉

Leave a Reply

Listening to Learn

Learning to Listen

Listening for Lessons

A Teacher and her Writing Practice

Writing Is My Drink

slake your thirst; find your voice

EventsForChange

~ creative ideas for making a difference ~

...the house I live in...

A journal of life pursued

