If you can see your path laid out in front of you step by step, you know it’s not your path. Your own path you make with every step you take. That’s why it’s your path.-—Joseph Campbell

Compassionate Connection

    The whole idea of compassion is based on a keen awareness of the interdependence of all these living beings, which are all part of one another, and all involved in one another
Thomas Merton
     Yesterday in the cancer center’s waiting room I felt deep connection with the patients and their families dealing with the reality of this disease.  It made me anxious.  Breathe, Laura.  Center yourself.  Be a calm presence.
     Then after visiting a high school remedial English class my thoughts as an observing teacher left me with  many challenging questions.  What are we assuming about these students?  What are we really teaching here?  How do we inspire curiosity and cooperativeness?  What is success?
     In the new secondary intern seminar last night I watched teachers acting much like their students.  A kind of just going-through-the-motions behavior.  What am I assuming about these students?  What am I really teaching here?  How do I inspire curiosity and cooperativeness?  What is success?
     This morning I visit a second grade class and this afternoon I teach in a after school program.
     Thomas Merton’s quote is so much more than words.
Comments on: "Compassionate Connection" (4)

  1. Thomas Merton was so rich in his offerings. I saw this quote this morning and it was a good way to begin the day.

    Thank you.

  2. “Thomas Merton’s quote is so much more than words.” As is your post…more than words because the words ‘stick’ and provoke thoughts to translate into action. I love your challenging questions, especially as a reminder to never just “go through the motions” in any part of life. What a rich and wonderful post!…I am so grateful for your visit to my blog, as that led me to your blog. I look forward to many inspirational and thought-provoking returns here 🙂

Leave a Reply

Listening to Learn

Learning to Listen

Listening for Lessons

A Teacher and her Writing Practice

Writing Is My Drink

slake your thirst; find your voice

EventsForChange

~ creative ideas for making a difference ~

...the house I live in...

A journal of life pursued

