If you can see your path laid out in front of you step by step, you know it’s not your path. Your own path you make with every step you take. That’s why it’s your path.-—Joseph Campbell

A Path with Heart

Pay attention to how you feel: what you love, dislike, hate, enjoy. Pay attention to what grabs your heart, what interests you. Discover who you are, not who you think you should be.”
–Melody Beattie

1. I enjoy spending my early mornings writing…morning pages, this blog, even my to-do list. I like to see words on a page.

2. Yesterday I went to a local college’s annual book bazaar.  The gym is filled, then refilled, with tables of books  that have been collected and cataloged throughout the year.  A bookoholic’s dream.  The genres of books I selected this year were different than last.  I am different this year than last.

3. I had planned to attend a panel discussion of Vietnam Vets at a local museum where a collection of the war’s photographs were on display.  I thought it could be a useful experience for the writing workshops I will be facilitating next month on Tim O’Brien’s book, The Things They Carried.  But back at home the cooler temperatures were beckoning me outside and I was soon pulling up the last of the summer garden and making plans for fall plantings.

4. My high school best friend and I were then to go to a digital arts festival.  Just the idea of a convention center full of technology stirs up anxiety, but I wanted to get together with Cathy so I let go of my concerns.  The displays were interesting enough, but the two hours afterwards that we spent talking on the  Italian restaurant’s patio were priceless.

The voices in my head are being renamed mindfulness as they coordinate with the feelings in my heart.  I can do this.

Leave a Reply

Listening to Learn

Learning to Listen

Listening for Lessons

A Teacher and her Writing Practice

Writing Is My Drink

slake your thirst; find your voice

EventsForChange

~ creative ideas for making a difference ~

...the house I live in...

A journal of life pursued

