If you can see your path laid out in front of you step by step, you know it’s not your path. Your own path you make with every step you take. That’s why it’s your path.-—Joseph Campbell

God Is

God is a metaphor for that which transcends all levels of intellectual thought. It’s as simple as that.
Joseph Campbell

My friend and I are walking back to my car, having just seen Ruby Sparks (I highly recommend it) at the downtown movie theater.  A soft spoken, middle aged black man approaches us and begins telling his story.  He is a vet who is to begin a veteran’s program on Tuesday that will pay his housing and education, and he’s run out of “free” days at the Salvation Army.  (According to him, he’s allowed seven days lodging and meals and then he’s on his own.  For $9 a night he can stay longer.) He tells us he understands if it’s hard to believe.  And yes, I am listening with a bit of skepticism.  It’s a good story, and we had just seen a movie about a writer who manifests a girlfriend by writing about her.

I spent $10 for the movie ticket, popcorn and a Dr. Pepper, and the change from my twenty dollar bill is in my purse.

“I have $10 I will give you. I want to believe what you are telling me,” I say and fish the $10 out of my purse.

My friend offers him another $10.  We get in the car and drive off, wondering aloud if we have done the “right” thing.  Who knows?  I gave him what I had spent on myself for entertainment and I, the writer, paid him for this story.  And that’s all I really know.

It’s as simple as that.

Comments on: "God Is" (5)

  1. I SO think you did the right thing. So often, maybe always, I think it’s about the giver as much as the person in need. Not that I give all time, but often I do, more than most I think. I always think to myself, “It’s better to be in my position, with something to share, than in theirs: having to beg.” Also, I’ve heard a lot of people say things like “You should give them food instead of money…” And what they mean by that is that they assume the person will just spend the money on alcohol or drugs… But, ya know, you cannot buy soap, or a comb, or nail clippers, or clothes, or hygiene products, etc., with a hamburger. You need money for those things, and I don’t think it’s my place (on the spot, in the short interaction I have with someone) to try and decide whether the money will be used for food or something else. And I am pretty sure I’ve been conned and taken advantage of many times. But, Karmically speaking, I’d rather live open-handedly like that, certainly hoping someone (maybe a lot of someones) would be the same way with me were I in need. And, really, we’re all in need of something…

    Sorry for the rant, but this is something that’s close to my heart. You did the right thing by opening your wallet, and I believe life, in some way, will also open it’s wallet to you…

  2. Sometimes we just have to trust our instincts and believe in people. The alternative maybe to never trust and think that everyone is out to scam us. The latter may be an extreme, but there are people who live there as well. My hat is off to you in doing the thing that gave meaning to you at that moment.

  3. Sometimes our giving is more important than another receiving. I sometimes wonder, when confronted with such a circumstance, is God testing me? Does He want to see if I trust Him to take my … oops, His money, and multiply it?
    Carole

Leave a Reply

Listening to Learn

Learning to Listen

Listening for Lessons

A Teacher and her Writing Practice

Writing Is My Drink

slake your thirst; find your voice

EventsForChange

~ creative ideas for making a difference ~

...the house I live in...

A journal of life pursued

