If you can see your path laid out in front of you step by step, you know it’s not your path. Your own path you make with every step you take. That’s why it’s your path.-—Joseph Campbell

Stretched by a New Idea

Man’s mind, stretched by a new idea, never goes back to its original dimensions.   Oliver Wendell Holmes, Jr.

Have you ever had one of those days where you find yourself in settings you thought familiar, only to wonder where am I?  What’s going on?  How did I get here?  Who am I now?

Yesterday was like that for me.  What I thought I knew was being challenged.  Perhaps yesterday’s quote should have been Meister Eckhart’s words, “Be willing to be a beginner every single morning.”  That was the mantra running through my head.

The surreal day began with a book club meeting (see yesterday’s post, We the People).  Writing about it helped put it in perspective.  But later in the day while  teaching “how to write an effective lesson plan” to my interns, I was constantly questioning how effective my own lesson really was.  Where am I?  What’s going on?  How did I get here?  Who am I now?

Then last night in a circle of friends at writer’s group I felt detached.  Alex told me I seemed pretty normal.  I guess I was assessing what normal is for me.  Where am I?  What’s going on?  How did I get here?  Who am I now?

Being in the world with the observation skills honed from writing practice is challenging.  Yesterday’s quote, “Even in the mud and scum of things, something always, always sings,” was the new idea I am being stretched with.  And it took a night’s rest to just get to this place.  Wherever this is.

Comments on: "Stretched by a New Idea" (4)

  1. I often feel this sense of disorientation. But often it’s a good thing- a way of moving back into a more present and real place.

    It’s also connected to self-awareness, I believe. If you are self-aware, you often see things that you would otherwise miss, or even repress. Seeing more, and more clearly, can be initially disorienting.

    Anyhow, what a thoughtful post.

    Thanks.

    Tom

  2. thank you for your comments

  3. Sometimes I feel as if I am on auto pilot. Then suddenly it gets turned off and I am awakened. But I don’t know where I am, or how I got there. I think too often we get sucked into all things that we “have to do” and forget about the moment, and exploring where/who/what we are now.

    But, I will say, there are many times when I do come to, and I look back at where a particular journey started, and I find that I have stretched. I’ve grown. I just wish I had been more conscious during the growth.

    Thanks for the post, you got me thinking.
    Andrea

  4. Can so relate to description of mini-awakenings where reality feels ‘surreal’ or am ‘detached’. Maybe just time-outs for reflection? Thank you for post.

Leave a Reply

Listening to Learn

Learning to Listen

Listening for Lessons

A Teacher and her Writing Practice

Writing Is My Drink

slake your thirst; find your voice

EventsForChange

~ creative ideas for making a difference ~

...the house I live in...

A journal of life pursued

