If you can see your path laid out in front of you step by step, you know it’s not your path. Your own path you make with every step you take. That’s why it’s your path.-—Joseph Campbell

Dealing with My Fears

Imagination was given to man to compensate him for what he is not; a sense of humor to console him for what he is.  Francis Bacon

I live in fear.  The fear of being found that I don’t know enough and am not good enough.

When I get too scared, I use my imagination, tell myself stories and retreat into my own fantasies. I’m not sure this is a good thing.  Being with others and hearing their stories tells me I’m not alone in this.

Yesterday I took two sixth grade girls to see the movie Paranorman. Driving to the movie, their conversation was competitive.  They were comparing the different middle schools they go to and their places in them, each outdoing the other.  Interesting, but probably not very accurate.

We went to the park after the movie and there was that competition thing again, as they tested the playground equipment.

Then a silliness took over.  Had they become tired of trying to prove themselves?  Were they now just lost in play?

I’m only speaking from my own experiences.

Comments on: "Dealing with My Fears" (3)

  1. My imagination is not from fear, but more from an invisible barrier of several layers and ingredients that limits my body and whole self from experiencing all that there could be, but my mind can permeate anything, and is free to roam and create anything I want it to.

  2. Actually, now that I think about it, me and Francis Bacon are sort of saying the same thing.

Leave a Reply

Listening to Learn

Learning to Listen

Listening for Lessons

A Teacher and her Writing Practice

Writing Is My Drink

slake your thirst; find your voice

EventsForChange

~ creative ideas for making a difference ~

...the house I live in...

A journal of life pursued

