If you can see your path laid out in front of you step by step, you know it’s not your path. Your own path you make with every step you take. That’s why it’s your path.-—Joseph Campbell

Problem Solving

We can’t solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them.   Albert Einstein

I tell my writing group that every day I come to the page with an anxiousness.  One member is surprised.

“Your book was so raw,” she says.

“Yeah, and I wrote it because journaling was the major way I got through my overwhelming anxiousness.  And this was the result,”  I reply.

When I tell people I’m a writer, something I have only recently been able to say, they ask me what I write.  I’m not sure, I tell them.  I need a better answer.

And what are you working on now, Laura?

I”m writing reflections from the classrooms I visit.  I write about the children, the teacher behaviors, the setting, the subject matter, the interactions.  Whatever seems to connect with me.

I write to see what I’m thinking.  I write to move through the obvious.  I write because it’s how I learn.  I write because when I don’t, I’m even more anxious.

Will this be a book?

I don’t know.  For now it is the way I gather new ideas and information for our weekly seminars.

Comments on: "Problem Solving" (3)

  1. Love the quote and the thoughts that follow! I can’t wait to see what you keep writing and the problems and solutions you discover along the way.

Leave a Reply

Listening to Learn

Learning to Listen

Listening for Lessons

A Teacher and her Writing Practice

Writing Is My Drink

slake your thirst; find your voice

EventsForChange

~ creative ideas for making a difference ~

...the house I live in...

A journal of life pursued

