If you can see your path laid out in front of you step by step, you know it’s not your path. Your own path you make with every step you take. That’s why it’s your path.-—Joseph Campbell

Growing Goodness

If you make it a habit not to blame others, you will feel the growth of the ability to love in your soul, and you will see the growth of goodness in your life.   Leo Tolstoy

It’s a beautiful day here.

After Thursday afternoon’s after school program, I had concerns.  Yesterday I wrote a reflection about the experience and it became clearer to me what I could do next.  I took those concerns to a person who could help.  I had the words!  Words that didn’t blame or whine or  offer excuses.  I spoke.  She listened.  She spoke.  I listened.  And together we crafted concrete actions to address the concerns.

When I saw the Tolstoy quote I thought, “This is what my writing has been teaching me.”

Comments on: "Growing Goodness" (2)

  1. Tolstoy is correct – love does grow when we move away from blame. Thanks for the wisdom of this post, and your other posts too! And the like on my blog.

    I’ve set myself as a follower of your blog. All the best!

Leave a Reply

Listening to Learn

Learning to Listen

Listening for Lessons

A Teacher and her Writing Practice

Writing Is My Drink

slake your thirst; find your voice

EventsForChange

~ creative ideas for making a difference ~

...the house I live in...

A journal of life pursued

