If you can see your path laid out in front of you step by step, you know it’s not your path. Your own path you make with every step you take. That’s why it’s your path.-—Joseph Campbell

Deep Connection

The place God calls you to is the place where your deep gladness and the world’s deep hunger meet.― Frederick Buechner

That place where I see pieces of myself in others.  That tells me I belong.  That I am not alone.  That we are one.

The Sunday ritual of breakfast with my brother at the grill where our nephew buses tables.

The weekly writing session with my first local and longest running writing buddy.

The third grade class’ young teacher with the same vulnerability and passion I remember having as a young teacher.

The group of teachers who meet regularly to celebrate the end of the work week, even though half of us are now retired.

The stranger in the grocery store who returns my smile.

The “likes” on my blog from people I only “know” from afar.

The place of deep gladness and hunger I call deep love.

Comments on: "Deep Connection" (16)

  1. I think this place is called Gratitude.

  2. “Not alone.” These connections help me feel not alone as well. And even when I’m in solitude, alone in the woods or the mountains, the reverberations of these connections are with me.

    This is a beautiful post.

    Thank you.

    Tom

  3. May it be so for all of us as we move through our day…

  4. I spent the afternoon reading your previous blog, “composting a life,” wonderful and rich. Glad to find your new blog here, I’ll look forward to reading it.

  5. This quote gave me spine tingles – it’s sooooo beautiful. To me that place is service, what I have to give and what the world needs meeting…service. Thanks for the inspiration!

  6. Another fabulous quote – so glad I found your site!

  7. Hi again! I just prepared this to go on my blog tomorrow. Thanks for being the inspiration for an extra-inspirational post!

Leave a Reply

Listening to Learn

Learning to Listen

Listening for Lessons

A Teacher and her Writing Practice

Writing Is My Drink

slake your thirst; find your voice

EventsForChange

~ creative ideas for making a difference ~

...the house I live in...

A journal of life pursued

