If you can see your path laid out in front of you step by step, you know it’s not your path. Your own path you make with every step you take. That’s why it’s your path.-—Joseph Campbell

The Experiences Around Me

Just as the wave cannot exist for itself, but is ever a part of the heaving surface of the ocean, so must I never live my life for itself, but always in the experience which is going on around me. Albert Schweitzer

When I get overwhelmed or afraid, I pull in or zone out.  It isolates me and keeps me “safe” in a less than satisfying way.  I want something different.

Yesterday as I was slipping into “flight mode,” I watched the experiences around me that trigger this reaction–watched them and watched me.  In the story and aware of the story.  I was mentally journalling to stay present.  It wasn’t comfortable.  I wanted to pull away and pick up the notebook.  And it wasn’t easy letting go of spinning thoughts as I went to sleep.

But this morning I see what I am doing. I say I don’t want to continue these isolating habits.  Writing practice (this time without the pen and paper)is showing me a different way.

Thanks, Dr. Schweitzer. Today your quote begins my day.

Comments on: "The Experiences Around Me" (1)

  1. Isnt it fascinating when we start watching ourselves…and catching ourselves ‘at it’…whatever the ‘it’ happens to be at that moment 🙂 Waking up to myself is amazing…like discovering someone who has been hiding just behind me all my life.

Leave a Reply

Listening to Learn

Learning to Listen

Listening for Lessons

A Teacher and her Writing Practice

Writing Is My Drink

slake your thirst; find your voice

EventsForChange

~ creative ideas for making a difference ~

...the house I live in...

A journal of life pursued

