If you can see your path laid out in front of you step by step, you know it’s not your path. Your own path you make with every step you take. That’s why it’s your path.-—Joseph Campbell

Peace Work

If in our daily life we can smile, if we can be peaceful and happy, not only we, but everyone will profit from it. This is the most basic kind of peace work. Thich Nhat Hanh

Beginning the morning with this quote in mind, I proceed to an Algebra I class in a private school to observe one of the interns in my seminar.  It is a pleasant experience.  The students are calm and respectful; the teacher is thorough and kind.

They are learning to plot graphs.  Halfway into the lesson she teaches them how to play Battle Graph, similar to Battleship, and several boys are immediately interested.  The students divide into pairs, map out their battleships on hidden graphs, then take turns guessing where their opponents have placed them by naming the coordinates.

I’m aware my peace and well-being is being fed in this class.

However, later, when I’m standing in a slow express line at the grocery store because an older woman ahead of me has at least twenty items, is chatty, and has to write a check, I feel antsy.  I know this feeling.  It’s impatience.  I’m not in control.

Recalling the quote, I tell myself to be peaceful and happy. The words are not enough. I visualize tightening my skin, getting my chaotic energy to flow within its walls and then releasing the more channeled energy.  I am trying to duplicate a feeling I have when meditating.  It worked.  OK.  So sometimes I need more than words.:)  Good to know.

Comments on: "Peace Work" (2)

  1. Oh, hooray for this quote! I’m going to use it on my site in the next week or so, and send credit to your blog for find it here. Thanks for inspiring!!

  2. I love the quote, and thank you very much for visiting and liking my blog! I’ll be back to read more of your wonderful quotes and thoughts.

Leave a Reply

Listening to Learn

Learning to Listen

Listening for Lessons

A Teacher and her Writing Practice

Writing Is My Drink

slake your thirst; find your voice

EventsForChange

~ creative ideas for making a difference ~

...the house I live in...

A journal of life pursued

