If you can see your path laid out in front of you step by step, you know it’s not your path. Your own path you make with every step you take. That’s why it’s your path.-—Joseph Campbell

Being Me

Trust thyself: every heart vibrates to that iron string. Accept the place the divine providence has found for you, the society of your contemporaries, the connection of events. Ralph Waldo Emerson

Everyone seems to be doing things, enjoying the fall weather, participating in local events.  At least that’s what Facebook says.

And me?  All I wanted to do yesterday is drink hot chocolate and read.

My thoughts this morning are “what’s wrong with me?”  My morning pages take this thought back and forth, dissecting and reconstructing, trying to understand why I did what I did and why I would now think it is wrong.

Then I find this Emerson quote in my eclectic collection (a word doc of cut and pasted quotes as I come across them)  Trust, he says, and accept.

Let it go, Laura.  Today I may get out, take a walk in this lovely weather, visit with friends.  Or not.  Either way.

Trust.

Accept.

Comments on: "Being Me" (9)

  1. sarwah2012 said:

    I love this, because it has been so much on my mind lately, acceptance, and if this is the place, I am at at the moment. Or if I have always been there, and I only just opened my eyes…………..

  2. […] Being Me. Share this:TwitterDiggFacebookStumbleUponRedditTumblrPinterestLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. This entry was posted in Fatherhood, Love, Motherhood, Parent, Poetry, Relationshiops, Uncategorized and tagged chidhood, Children, community, English, fatherhood, Female, Life, Love, Marriage, Motherhood, women on October 7, 2012 by sarwah2012. […]

  3. Have used this quote myself. Until I coud accept God’s world as being the way things are supposed to be, until I could accept that my God does not make any junk, could I trust myself to dance to the beat of the drummer that is within my heart,so I can enjoy the moment, not yesterdays choices or tomorrows concerns, but the here and now. Trust, accept and enjoy. Love, hugs and prayers. ME and the Boss
    T

  4. Laura,

    If we can just hold on to these feelings of acceptance, trust, forgiveness- beginning with ourselves, everything else takes care of itself.

    This is a beautiful, wise post. A great reminder to me this cold, gray Sunday morning that whatever I do, I need only be present and accepting in each moment. That’s all.

    Thank you.

    Tom

  5. Chocolate and reading abed sounds like an event, too — especially if you have some autumn foliage at the window.
    OK, maybe you prefer a big stuffed chair or the sofa … or even a deep hot bath.
    Why leave home till there’s something better?

  6. thekeytochange said:

    I love this post…:)) I have thought about this too myself. When everyone seems to have a “happy and perfect life” and no problem what so ever, we think about ourself as a looser; we fall in that trap. That is sad. We really have to like ourself, like what we do and who we are… Love this…

  7. Sometimes its easy to forget that we need to do things for ourselves – just ‘be’. I love this quote.

  8. […] Being Me (itstartedwithaquote.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

Listening to Learn

Learning to Listen

Listening for Lessons

A Teacher and her Writing Practice

Writing Is My Drink

slake your thirst; find your voice

EventsForChange

~ creative ideas for making a difference ~

...the house I live in...

A journal of life pursued

