If you can see your path laid out in front of you step by step, you know it’s not your path. Your own path you make with every step you take. That’s why it’s your path.-—Joseph Campbell

My Reality

What we achieve inwardly will change outer reality.― Plutarch

This isn’t the post I wrote an hour ago.  That post disappeared when the power went off.  Oh, and it was so profound!

“Yeah, right,” says God, and pulls the plug.  “Stop talking in lofty abstracts and step into the real world.”

Ok Ok.

I was talking about how writing has changed my reality.  How words no longer scare me.  How much easier it is for me to find my balance now when I become overwhelmed.  Blah, blah, blah.  And then the lights went out.  Yikes!!! I’m sitting in here in my pajamas, the heat is off, and I have twenty things to do before my four o’clock class.

I check the breaker box.  Nada.  Everything’s ok in there.  It must be related to the trucks down the street who are trimming the trees around the power lines (to prevent outages).  I have no idea how long this will take and thinking about what I want to be doing will only make me restless.

I’ll take a shower, get dressed and take my computer and books to the library, where I can use their wi-fi, heat and lights.  It’s a good plan.

However when I step out of the shower, voila.  Lights and heat!!!

Ta da!  And I didn’t lose my balance or feel overwhelmed.  A small thing, perhaps, but worth noting.  I have been known to take these interruptions very personally.

Leave a Reply

Listening to Learn

Learning to Listen

Listening for Lessons

A Teacher and her Writing Practice

Writing Is My Drink

slake your thirst; find your voice

EventsForChange

~ creative ideas for making a difference ~

...the house I live in...

A journal of life pursued

