If you can see your path laid out in front of you step by step, you know it’s not your path. Your own path you make with every step you take. That’s why it’s your path.-—Joseph Campbell

Pilgrim

How we spend our days is, of course, how we spend our lives.
Annie Dillard

Annie Dillard’s Pilgrim at Tinker Creek is one of my all time favorite books.

And what does the Pilgrim at Tinker Creek do?  She wanders through the woods watching and listening and then returns to her cabin to record her observations.

Hmmm…sounds familiar.

I wake this morning with resistance, not really sure I want to leave this dream place.  This happens often.  It takes a deliberate push to let go of wherever I thought I was, to choose to be back here (wherever I think “here” is).

Today the dreams, as best I recall, were wanderings.  Encountering people and experiences.  Some I know, some I don’t.  Giving and taking.  Back and forth.  I am in this stream of people, and I am also watching and listening.

Wake up, Pilgrim.  This IS your here.  Don’t be afraid.  You are just in the dream with your eyes open.

A quote from Pilgrim at Tinker Creek….The answer must be, I think, that beauty and grace are performed whether or not we will or sense them. The least we can do is try to be there.

Leave a Reply

Listening to Learn

Learning to Listen

Listening for Lessons

A Teacher and her Writing Practice

Writing Is My Drink

slake your thirst; find your voice

EventsForChange

~ creative ideas for making a difference ~

...the house I live in...

A journal of life pursued

