If you can see your path laid out in front of you step by step, you know it’s not your path. Your own path you make with every step you take. That’s why it’s your path.-—Joseph Campbell

What we plant in the soil of contemplation,
we shall reap in the harvest of action.   Meister Eckhart

“The Mentor” on the campus of the University of Mississippi

What have I been planting?

What am I reaping?

Contemplation.  Does a closet full of journals count as contemplation?

My mind is on NANO (National Novel Writing Month), which begins in less than two weeks.  For each of the last three years I have written 50,000+ words during the month of November.  Why?  To prove I could?  To give myself a deadline?  To compete with my writer friends? Because I was curious what my pen might uncover?

I enjoyed telling myself the stories.  I felt proud of the accomplishment. But my three rambling “novels” are still just that.  Rambling “novels.”  It has been good practice.

This year feels different.  I have a story I want to share, and I am ready to use the discipline of NANO to help me.

Thirty years of teaching classrooms of children, four years of teaching beginning teachers, and six years of teaching children in after school and summer programs.  That’s a lot of planting.  And for the last twelve years, I have been journaling about my life and these teaching experiences.  I’m learning a lot.

It’s time to tell this story.

Comments on: "Learning to Teach, Teaching to Learn" (10)

  1. unclerave said:

    Go for it! I’ve been toying with an idea for about a year, but now that I’m working again I don’t have the time. Keep us up to date!

    — YUR

  2. That’s a lot of years of journaling! I bet there’s some good stuff in there! Change the names to protect the innocents and you probably have a ton of writing material there! I look forward to reading more. 🙂

  3. Enjoy NANO, I wish you very well with it:-)

  4. When we draw from our experiences we remember those subtle details, those things that apply to our senses and make characters so much more real. They can mean the difference between a good story and an amazing one.

    I wish you the best of luck with your writing!

  5. […] Learning to Teach, Teaching to Learn (itstartedwithaquote.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

Listening to Learn

Learning to Listen

Listening for Lessons

A Teacher and her Writing Practice

Writing Is My Drink

slake your thirst; find your voice

EventsForChange

~ creative ideas for making a difference ~

...the house I live in...

A journal of life pursued

