If you can see your path laid out in front of you step by step, you know it’s not your path. Your own path you make with every step you take. That’s why it’s your path.-—Joseph Campbell

A Little Change

A man travels the world over in search of what he needs and returns home to find it.   George Moore

Last night’s worry—money.  Specifically, how would I pay the bills that continue to come in?  Just as I think the outgoing is not ahead of the incoming, two new bills arrive.  How could I have forgotten the homeowner’s insurance is due?  And what is this bill from the oncologist?  I thought my insurance covered that yearly visit.

This morning I wake with my Muse encouraging me to apply a bit of creativity to my financial woes.

Ah, yes.  I was a hippie from the sixties.  I was resourceful.  How did “life” get so expensive?

I begin to make a list.  I can let go of cable television; it’s certainly not earning its keep.

Eating out will be scaled back…drastically.  (Except for Sunday morning breakfast with my brother and other important celebrations!)  I can eat healthier with simple foods at home.

Most of the things I enjoy  cost very little.  Writing, reading, walking in the park, being with friends, working in the garden.

Just watch the change, Laura.  Apply a bit of mindfulness to the needs in your life.

Comments on: "A Little Change" (9)

  1. fransiweinstein said:

    It’s amazing to discover what we can easily live without.

  2. A wonderful post, a wonderful decision. Being frugal is something I try to aspire to in my own life, so I can certainly understand where you’re coming from.

    Good luck with the journey!

  3. This is a great post with great timing (for me anyway) I have to remind myself that I actually can do with out some things.

    • thekeytochange said:

      Yes it’s refreshing to find out what we don’t need. And mindfullness is a really good way of reminding and finding out what’s really important:)

  4. thekeytochange said:

    A good post about beeing in the now, we can all do well with less:)

  5. I totally resonate with this! I stay at home with my little one and also conduct writer’s workshops. It barely pays the bills but at the same time, I love this life. I am from Calgary, Canada and today it is blizzarding (not a common occurence for October, let me tell you) and it is days like this that make me grateful for my life even if my bank account doesn’t share the joy. Thank you for this post!

Leave a Reply

Listening to Learn

Learning to Listen

Listening for Lessons

A Teacher and her Writing Practice

Writing Is My Drink

slake your thirst; find your voice

EventsForChange

~ creative ideas for making a difference ~

...the house I live in...

A journal of life pursued

