If you can see your path laid out in front of you step by step, you know it’s not your path. Your own path you make with every step you take. That’s why it’s your path.-—Joseph Campbell

Haiku-ing in Hot Springs

Always acknowledge a fault. This will throw those in authority off their guard and give you an opportunity to commit more.    Mark Twain

I lost a day.  Well, that’s not true.  I lost a day, two actually, of my “normal” schedule.

One of my writing buddies and I went to Hots Springs AR for a two day Haiku conference.  Way cool…

First of all I haven’t really written much haiku, except when I taught it to third graders (you know,  the 5-7-5 kind of teaching.)  Then there was that two month period of time when overwhelmed by the words pouring from of my pen I found comfort in the rhythm and imagery of a short poem.

So I attend this conference as a unapologetic novice.  How freeing!!!  I had nothing to prove and everything to be open to.

Jungian dream work, the musicality of Mandarin from the Chinese professor, a laughing yoga interlude, the exercise in honor of All Saints Day using the prompt death, the program director’s first hand account of the Memphis radio station WDIA’s transition in the early fifties and a world premier of the sensual performance haiga, The Tip of the Compass.

All that and the gallery walk through downtown Hot Springs on Friday night.

In reference to the Twain quote, the fault I acknowledge today:  Sometimes I cynically think there’s not much left to be in awe of.

Wonder what I’ll be open to today?

Leave a Reply

Listening to Learn

Learning to Listen

Listening for Lessons

A Teacher and her Writing Practice

Writing Is My Drink

slake your thirst; find your voice

EventsForChange

~ creative ideas for making a difference ~

...the house I live in...

A journal of life pursued

