If you can see your path laid out in front of you step by step, you know it’s not your path. Your own path you make with every step you take. That’s why it’s your path.-—Joseph Campbell

Being Beautiful

To be beautiful means to be yourself. You don’t need to be accepted by others. You need to accept yourself.
Thich Nhat Hanh

Day 6 of Nano and I’m already several thousand words behind.

I wanted to write a story, a real novel.  But it wasn’t happening; my journaling voice kept taking over.  I knew the story I wanted to tell was based on my experiences, so when I read Tim O’Brien’s The Things They Carried -explaining the difference in story-truth and happening-truth- I thought, I will do it that way.

I have 24 days left to find another 43,ooo words, and I am letting my pen take the lead.  I will dig to the core of this story, The Gift of a Second Chance, using my journal voice.   For now.  I accept that.

Comments on: "Being Beautiful" (5)

  1. I love Thich Nhat Hanh, he expresses deep wisdom with such simplicity.

  2. I understand. It is NANOWRIMO again and as always, distractions abound. I know we will succeed!

  3. Hello! I noticed you liked one of my posts, so I thought I would come over and say hi. I really like the quote you’ve included at the beginning… very true. I believe an individual MUST know their own beauty to see someone else’s. To know your own beauty is to know yourself. 🙂

  4. Thank you for passing by.

Leave a Reply

Listening to Learn

Learning to Listen

Listening for Lessons

A Teacher and her Writing Practice

Writing Is My Drink

slake your thirst; find your voice

EventsForChange

~ creative ideas for making a difference ~

...the house I live in...

A journal of life pursued

