If you can see your path laid out in front of you step by step, you know it’s not your path. Your own path you make with every step you take. That’s why it’s your path.-—Joseph Campbell

Character Building

Life isn’t about finding yourself. Life is about creating yourself.   George Bernard Shaw.

The Nano novel has been more challenging for me this year.  I’m meeting resistance; something’s in my way.

Last night’s writing group is exactly what I needed.  After catching up on each other’s week, we moved into a discussion of the “Nano experience.”  We are all signed up, but we are all behind, numbers wise.  I realize when giving a brief summary of my story thus far that I’m in big trouble.  Melissa and June talk of murders and sex and attention grabbing plots.  I’m a teacher in search of myself.  Sigh.  What does that mean?  Story of my life.

Melissa suggests we do a ten minute free write using the topic “what’s on our character’s bedside table.”  Hmm, hadn’t  thought much about it.  Get set. Write.

Yes! My pen begins scribbling, as I pin this dude down.  Every night he sits on his bed watching the news and eating  a bowl of cold cereal.   The alarm clock on the table next to him is from college, forty years ago.  There’s also the $13 phone from Walmart that is forever tipping off its flimsy stand.  Under his bed is a stack of ungraded papers and an overdue library book he hasn’t finished, but has already been renewed the maximum two times.

I know this guy.  He’s been floating around in my head for a long time now.  It’s time to make him real.

Thanks, writing buddies, for the grounding.

Comments on: "Character Building" (3)

  1. Thanks for the Shaw quote. I had a very similar thought for myself today.

  2. Thanks so much for reminding me of this George Bernard Shaw quote. I saw it once on a shop window in London 15 years ago and it was one of the most powerfully insightful quotes I’ve ever read. It changed my whole thinking.

  3. […] Character Building (itstartedwithaquote.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

Listening to Learn

Learning to Listen

Listening for Lessons

A Teacher and her Writing Practice

Writing Is My Drink

slake your thirst; find your voice

EventsForChange

~ creative ideas for making a difference ~

...the house I live in...

A journal of life pursued

