If you can see your path laid out in front of you step by step, you know it’s not your path. Your own path you make with every step you take. That’s why it’s your path.-—Joseph Campbell

Letting the Muse Work

I figure a day of staying in and letting the muse be in charge might not be the norm and, sure enough, yesterday I need to drag myself back into the “real world.”

Jazzercise at 8 in the morning?  I want to stay in my nice warm bed.  But an hour of moving around to music gives me energy.  Muse, is that you?

A 10 o’clock appointment with my financial adviser doesn’t sound real exciting.  What do I need with a financial adviser?  She asks what’s new with me and I start babbling.  Telling her my dreams.  She listens and asks questions and suggests some tweaking to my annuities, taking some of the worry of future finances.  Is Terry a friend of my muse?

Then a quick run to Target for a planner for the new year…and thirty minutes of dawdling through the arts and crafts aisles.  Muse?

Ah, back at home to finish the new Barbara Kingsolver book, Flight Behavior.  (Highly recommended)  But somewhere in the middle of butterflies and cultural diversity I realize I’m not making art.

Was about my new year’s resolution?

I climb out of my  recliner, pick up my camera and head to the writing room.

Here’s some art I made…just not recently.  Today is art appreciation day.

near the ceiling, a snowflake border...no two alike

near the ceiling, a snowflake border…no two alike

My new year’s resolution is to pay attention.  My muse is everywhere.

I’m not in control of my muse. My muse does all the work.  Ray Bradbury

Comments on: "Letting the Muse Work" (5)

  1. Thanks for “liking” moveintochange. When my muse it at work there is always a body sensation that lets me know I’m moving from that place. Do you experience that too?

    Judy

  2. I would like to hear more about the body sensation you are discussing here in the comments section. Can you elaborate on what this means.

    • i can be easily overwhelmed…a little nondescript anxiety…questioning myself, cataloging concerns, spinning thoughts, etc…that tell me I’ve wandered away from the bigger place of which I am a part…”that great power that comes from God”

Leave a Reply

Listening to Learn

Learning to Listen

Listening for Lessons

A Teacher and her Writing Practice

Writing Is My Drink

slake your thirst; find your voice

EventsForChange

~ creative ideas for making a difference ~

...the house I live in...

A journal of life pursued

