If you can see your path laid out in front of you step by step, you know it’s not your path. Your own path you make with every step you take. That’s why it’s your path.-—Joseph Campbell

De Clutter

Where did all this stuff come from? How did this house get so cluttered? I’m the only one who lives here now. Did I make this mess all by myself? How embarrassing.

The house I grew up in was a tribute to 57 years of family living. The dance recital costume that fit when I was five. My brothers’ toy box full of little plastic army men. Mother threw away nothing. After she died I looked at my own home of 25 years with a critical eye and an intention of “not being my mother.”

That was two years ago.

On Friday floor installers will come to replace my living room and hall carpet with wood laminate. My task this weekend was to clear them out. Argh. I started on the living room only to have it lead to the six connected to it. And we’re talking closets here too. OMG.

I’ve spent a lot of time working on decluttering my inner world. Looks like it’s time to work on this chaos around me for a while. Balance, I tell myself, as I take another bag of trash to the curb.

Now where do I put these things?

Now where do I put these things?

Comments on: "De Clutter" (2)

  1. “I’ve spent a lot of time working on decluttering my inner world.” How well you articulated the silent process going on inside me.”

  2. thank you…i appreciate your comments:)

Leave a Reply

Listening to Learn

Learning to Listen

Listening for Lessons

A Teacher and her Writing Practice

Writing Is My Drink

slake your thirst; find your voice

EventsForChange

~ creative ideas for making a difference ~

...the house I live in...

A journal of life pursued

