If you can see your path laid out in front of you step by step, you know it’s not your path. Your own path you make with every step you take. That’s why it’s your path.-—Joseph Campbell

Stopping the Words

The birds are singing before sunrise this morning. My floor will be finished today. But something is  getting in the way of positive feelings.

I’m proud of my ability to process and assess, but it’s a trait that can quickly get out of hand. Balancing my inner thoughts and outer experiences is a continuous struggle.

I tap out words to try to “explain” what is going on with me. Pure rubbish.

Try something different. Get out of your head and play.

That’s an interesting idea.  What should I do?

Should? I don’t know. What have you wanted to do but talked yourself out of?

Lots of stuff.

Well, pick something, anything, and just do it. I’ll check back with you tomorrow.

But wait…what if…

Tomorrow. I’ll be back.

jailbird

Stop the words now. Open the window in the center of your chest, and let the spirits fly in and out. ~Rumi

Comments on: "Stopping the Words" (3)

  1. yes, i have the same dialogue and battle inside me daily… *sigh*

  2. Doubt, procrastination, and just plain stupidity has allowed me to talk myself out of doing many useful and wonderful things…Today, less talk, more action…when I don’t think.

    Loved the Rumi quote…scheduled for the 28th….ME and the Boss

  3. […] Stopping the Words (itstartedwithaquote.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

Listening to Learn

Learning to Listen

Listening for Lessons

A Teacher and her Writing Practice

Writing Is My Drink

slake your thirst; find your voice

EventsForChange

~ creative ideas for making a difference ~

...the house I live in...

A journal of life pursued

