If you can see your path laid out in front of you step by step, you know it’s not your path. Your own path you make with every step you take. That’s why it’s your path.-—Joseph Campbell

Writing for Connection

Zentangle meditation while my floor is being installed.

Zentangle meditation while my floor is being installed.

I’m sitting with my computer on my lap wondering what I will allow today’s blog to reveal. I’m in the middle of jumbled furniture, moved for the new floor installation. My foot is propped to keep the tendonitis pain from getting out of hand. And I’m close to tears. Vulnerability is not my strong suit.

Yesterday morning a friend reading my blog calls to offer a free TV that her Facebook friend is giving away. I tear up. It is such a kind gesture. Several hours later her teenaged son brings it over and hooks it up.

After the installers leave I get in my car. I want food and to return a library book. Mainly I want a change of scenery. But the car won’t start. My tears begin again.

I call a friend. My car won’t start, my foot hurts and I’m hungry, I cry. She gently talks me off the ledge with her calm words and I begin to feel better.

I write to fight the feeling of being alone. Talking to myself through morning pages builds courage at the beginning of my day. Daily blogging is practice for talking to people around me through the day. And sharing timed writings with friends fills a hunger for deeper conversation with others.

I’m writing for connection.

Comments on: "Writing for Connection" (11)

  1. writers sometimes deny the basic human need to connect and prefer to keep to themselves… we cannot forget that behind the text, keyboard and send buttons are human beings with feelings, longings and a need for company…

  2. I can relate. When I feel this way I always read this quote by Nichiren Daishonin “winter always turns to spring”. It’s from a letter he wrote to one of his followers. Here’s a link if you wish to read it in full.
    http://www.sgilibrary.org/view.php?page=535&m=1&q=winter%20turns%20to%20spring

    This always help me get through days like the ones you’re having.

    Be well.

    nam myoho renge kyo
    -buddhasal

  3. Dealing with a lot a one time. Never easy. Sounds like you are handling it well. (Judgmental sounding comment really meant to be praise). My daughter’s best advice to me at te age of nine “sigh so you don’t explode”.

  4. I think I started blogging for connection with myself but i JUST LOVE the connection with other awesome bloggers

  5. I am glad that you blog, for whatever reason. I just stopped by your blog to see what was happening and I love it. Great job, different expressions written, visual, honest and open. Great job! Thanks for provoking great thoughts.

  6. Writing continues to save me again and again. I literally don’t think I could live without it – such a powerful tool it is to re-connect me to life and to truth and to the now…thank you words:-) Even if some of your are never meant to be read by anyone other than me…you have done your work, and it was good.

Leave a Reply

Listening to Learn

Learning to Listen

Listening for Lessons

A Teacher and her Writing Practice

Writing Is My Drink

slake your thirst; find your voice

EventsForChange

~ creative ideas for making a difference ~

...the house I live in...

A journal of life pursued

