If you can see your path laid out in front of you step by step, you know it’s not your path. Your own path you make with every step you take. That’s why it’s your path.-—Joseph Campbell

A Childlike Voice

calendarYou know how keeping a diary of what you eat when you’re watching your weight is helpful? Well, I’ve started doing something like that, except I’m recording what feels like positive energy.

It’s not my sensible calendar of appointments or endless lists of what I need to do. Instead, it’s a reflection at the end of the day of activities, encounters and ideas that “felt good.”

For example, yesterday I wrote 1.) unpacked and organized the living room, 2.) gathered books and activities for my after school Folk Tales and Fables class, 3.) made fried rice with broccoli and Swiss chard from my garden.

My critical voice, who at times sounds remarkably like my mother, wasn’t sitting on my shoulder telling me my house is a mess, lesson plans are due, or the garden needs attention. Instead I received playful ideas, as if a child was in charge.

I’m discovering the voice I want to hear, and share. And it’s located between my head and my heart.

Comments on: "A Childlike Voice" (11)

  1. The last line is excellent and perfectly resonates with me and your post reminds me a mine last week : through a child’s eyes. Thank you.

  2. What a great concept! Writing down what made you feel positive each day! I would enjoy hearing in a future blog how it affects your outlook or changes your life.

  3. I’ve been thinking a lot about. It is through this Childlike voice that we tap into the essence of what our life is all about in spite of the daily challenges and perplexities…

  4. A. Elizabeth Butler said:

    This is great!

Leave a Reply

Listening to Learn

Learning to Listen

Listening for Lessons

A Teacher and her Writing Practice

Writing Is My Drink

slake your thirst; find your voice

EventsForChange

~ creative ideas for making a difference ~

...the house I live in...

A journal of life pursued

