If you can see your path laid out in front of you step by step, you know it’s not your path. Your own path you make with every step you take. That’s why it’s your path.-—Joseph Campbell

The Struggle

The word struggle is on my radar and sure enough, as I try to pin down my thoughts on the subject it’s a…struggle.

After spending all day (5:30a.m.- 3:30p.m.) yesterday accompanying my brother through day surgery, I take him to his house and go get his medicine. I’m drained, my foot hurts and I am ready to be finished with this commitment.

I’ll just use the pharmacy drive through. That’ll be easier, I think.

But I need his ID (which I don’t have) for one of his medicines, one is over the counter which means I need to come inside, and one is currently out of stock.

I snap at the clerk and drive off.

I am not proud of this response. As I drive back to my brother’s to get his ID, I regroup. It isn’t the clerk’s fault that an ID is required with narcotics. When I return I’ll go in rather than try to use the drive through.

Once inside the store I realize how busy the clerk is. She may feel just as drained as I. We start over. She takes the ID, points me to the aisle where I find the medicine I need and offers to call another pharmacy to see if they have the missing prescription. I thank her and smile.

Sometimes I’m just going to snap, even as I struggle to stay mindful.

see filename

see filename (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Comments on: "The Struggle" (6)

  1. We all struggle with this. I think it is because we are human. Isn’t every situation and person we encounter an opportunity for growth? Thank you for sharing. I needed a reminder to be more empathetic to others today. 🙂

  2. We all have days when we feel under pressure and it gets to us. Be kind to yourself and proud that you have the courage to share your bad times and the insight to help you better days. 🙂

  3. Try changing the word ‘struggle’ to practice 🙂

  4. …and it is a struggle, despite all the ideas about letting go and surrender ~ and it always beats me down, so I end up surrendering anyway, so I tell myself, why not surrender from the get go? and sometimes I do and then it’s easy, but not always. Good post, true expression, I like!
    Journey with eyes open is all I can do, isn’t it?
    tomas

Leave a Reply

Listening to Learn

Learning to Listen

Listening for Lessons

A Teacher and her Writing Practice

Writing Is My Drink

slake your thirst; find your voice

EventsForChange

~ creative ideas for making a difference ~

...the house I live in...

A journal of life pursued

