If you can see your path laid out in front of you step by step, you know it’s not your path. Your own path you make with every step you take. That’s why it’s your path.-—Joseph Campbell

Routine

After a weekend of people, events and ideas…it’s Monday.

My morning pages are full of people, events, and ideas,  and as I write I begin to feel overwhelmed.

Before retirement, by this time in the morning, my school day was well underway. Today I am still in pajamas. How can this be? Am I’m losing focus?

I get up to take a shower, eat breakfast and begin to pin down my morning pages meanderings.

1) Finish reading Caleb’s Crossing by Geraldine Brooks that was due over the weekend. It is next week’s book club selection.

2) Print out cat pictures from the internet for the after school lesson based on the book, The Boy Who Drew Cats, which will probably be tomorrow’s blog post. (see Pandora’s Box from last Monday)

3) Organize handouts activities for the interns’ lesson on classroom organization for tomorrow.

4) Make cranberry walnut muffins to deliver to my brother and three other friends this afternoon.

5) Pay two more bills, return library book, buy stamps, and deposit a check on the way to Barnes and Noble to spend time with my newest writing buddy.

6) Write today’s blog about…well, this.

A bit more routine might help me balance all this crazy energy I’m feeling.

Comments on: "Routine" (5)

  1. Can you share some of that energy? 😀

  2. The overwhelmed feeling is odd isn’t it? It comes out of nowhere life a thief in the night to rob our happiness temporarily. It has nothing to do with what has to be done. Nothing really has to be done. We create the story of what needs to be done and then beat iurselves with it. I am trying to stop that. Are you a high achiever type?

    • perfect child syndrome:)…except this time i like how easy it was to move past the feeling of sloth into a plan that’s more doable…i might not get to the muffins till tomorrow…

Leave a Reply

Listening to Learn

Learning to Listen

Listening for Lessons

A Teacher and her Writing Practice

Writing Is My Drink

slake your thirst; find your voice

EventsForChange

~ creative ideas for making a difference ~

...the house I live in...

A journal of life pursued

