If you can see your path laid out in front of you step by step, you know it’s not your path. Your own path you make with every step you take. That’s why it’s your path.-—Joseph Campbell

The Great Grief Cry

It’s possible I am pushing through solid rock
in flintlike layers, as the ore lies, alone;
I am such a long way in I see no way through,
and no space: everything is close to my face,
and everything close to my face is stone.

I don’t have much knowledge yet in grief
so this massive darkness makes me small.
You be the master: make yourself fierce, break in:
then your great transforming will happen to me,
and my great grief cry will happen to you.

Rainer Maria Rilke
(Translated by Robert Bly)

I’ve been crying off and on all morning. Not the great grief cry perhaps, just a steady tearing up.

Yesterday I saw myself everywhere. In two classrooms, one with innocent, playful seven-year-olds and one full of combatant teenagers, I was both the teachers and their students.

I was each beginning teacher in last night’s seminar, my whole life in front of me, trying to make sense of it. And later with a mother of young children and another with teenagers preparing to leave the nest.

And this morning I cry. For all that was, and is, and will yet be.

Comments on: "The Great Grief Cry" (3)

  1. So sincere and moving words…

  2. Thank you for this deeply moving post. I know that many I speak with these days are telling me their eyes are running like open spigots. I believe that these are tears of relief and release — through ourselves, for ourselves and for the Collective. Thank you for your heartfelt contributions, Alia

Leave a Reply

Listening to Learn

Learning to Listen

Listening for Lessons

A Teacher and her Writing Practice

Writing Is My Drink

slake your thirst; find your voice

EventsForChange

~ creative ideas for making a difference ~

...the house I live in...

A journal of life pursued

