If you can see your path laid out in front of you step by step, you know it’s not your path. Your own path you make with every step you take. That’s why it’s your path.-—Joseph Campbell

Rumi’s Field

Out beyond ideas of wrongdoing

and right doing there is a field.

I’ll meet you there.

When the soul lies down in that grass

the world is too full to talk about.

Rumi

Many years ago I took the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator, a psychometric questionnaire designed to measure psychological preferences in how people perceive the world and make decisions. My “letters” were INTP. A clear preference to introversion, a near balance between intuiting and sensing, a clear preference to thinking over feeling, and a fairly clear preference to perceiving.

And who am I now?  Has anything changed? Would my assessment be different today? I don’t really understand all the correlations and information such a test like this can indicate.

I just want to accept and respect my preferences and limits and be able to use them as gifts.

And I yearn for Rumi’s field beyond words or assessments.field

Comments on: "Rumi’s Field" (6)

  1. I have send this Rumi quote to my best friends. I guess the field is a lot wider than I thought. Perhaps I shouldn’t think and remain there.

  2. This is one of my all time favourite Rumi quotes! I’m so glad you used it in your blog! It always reminds me that perception and compassion are necessary!

  3. […] then I read this post called “Rumi’s Field”. I looked out the window as the sinking sun touched the field beside my room, and I remembered that […]

  4. Thank you, this is one of my very favorite poems by Rumi. On the eastern outskirts of my City of Light, Aurora, there is a fertile valley that has many grassy meadows. I imagine that I feel this way there. My soul lies down in that grass and the world is full all around me and there is a deep silence within. I’ll take you there sometime soon, Alia

Leave a Reply

Listening to Learn

Learning to Listen

Listening for Lessons

A Teacher and her Writing Practice

Writing Is My Drink

slake your thirst; find your voice

EventsForChange

~ creative ideas for making a difference ~

...the house I live in...

A journal of life pursued

