If you can see your path laid out in front of you step by step, you know it’s not your path. Your own path you make with every step you take. That’s why it’s your path.-—Joseph Campbell

Monkey Mind

Buddha described the human mind as being filled with drunken monkeys, jumping around, screeching, chattering, carrying on endlessly. We all have monkey minds, Buddha said, with dozens of monkeys all clamoring for attention. Fear is an especially loud monkey, sounding the alarm incessantly, pointing out all the things we should be wary of and everything that could go wrong.     B J Gallagher

Sound familiar?

Overwhelming shame and fear, real or imagined, pulled me away from others. When the isolating anxiety became more than I could handle, I found solace in writing practice. I talked to myself as if I were my beloved counselor and minister, my son, my mother.

I needed to hear kind words.

I needed to know why my son killed himself.

I needed to know how a mother survives such grief.

I needed to calm my monkey mind.

Ten years later I am still writing.

This morning my monkey mind jumps around with ideas for sharing this practice and doubts of who I think I am or why it would matter. Argh!

So write, Laura. Use your practice to tame that monkey.

Comments on: "Monkey Mind" (9)

  1. Thank you for sharing this. You had me at monkey mind. 🙂 So true, the thoughts of the ego that are always there to shoot you down, dampen your excitement, make you lose your focus. If I read this right, you are contemplating sharing your writing practice? If that is right, please do! I love learning and writing and always look for ideas that help me do both better. Thanks for monkeying around today and sharing this. I hope you do decide to share. 🙂

  2. I’ve always called them my rage monkeys. This is so true, we all need to learn how to tame them before they drive us mad! I send you good monkey vibes.

  3. What a great and true quote. Jay

  4. The beauty is in the struggle.

  5. Simply gorgeous! My very best wishes to you, Laura! — Scott

  6. […] Monkey Mind (itstartedwithaquote.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

Listening to Learn

Learning to Listen

Listening for Lessons

A Teacher and her Writing Practice

Writing Is My Drink

slake your thirst; find your voice

EventsForChange

~ creative ideas for making a difference ~

...the house I live in...

A journal of life pursued

