If you can see your path laid out in front of you step by step, you know it’s not your path. Your own path you make with every step you take. That’s why it’s your path.-—Joseph Campbell

Back to the Garden

We are stardust.
We are golden.
And we’ve got to get ourselves back to the garden.   Joni Mitchell

I’m planting onions, “caging” tomatoes, weeding around the spinach, moving compost and readying a bed for beans.

tomatoes

But I stop this flourish of backyard activity to write for  twenty minutes, without inferring (see yesterday’s post), in a neighborhood community garden a couple miles away. Writing only what my senses tell me–the large rosemary bush in the center of a brick framed plot, the trill of a mockingbird from one of a dozen large trees nearby, a small whirlwind of oak leaves–is easy enough in a setting I love. No one else is there and less than half a dozen people pass on the sidewalk behind me.

As I’m driving home, I consider adding yellow squash to my garden. The last three times I planted this vegetable, the dreaded squash vine borer invaded my “crop” leaving only frustration and a few small, mushy squash. I head toward the farm store for plants. It’s time to try again.

squashToday I plan to write at the “duck pond.” Ducks, children, playground equipment, a sunny day—how hard can that be? I’m working up my nerve to write in the snack area at Walmart’s.

Leave a Reply

Listening to Learn

Learning to Listen

Listening for Lessons

A Teacher and her Writing Practice

Writing Is My Drink

slake your thirst; find your voice

EventsForChange

~ creative ideas for making a difference ~

...the house I live in...

A journal of life pursued

