If you can see your path laid out in front of you step by step, you know it’s not your path. Your own path you make with every step you take. That’s why it’s your path.-—Joseph Campbell

Family Ties

If you want to make God laugh, tell him about your plans.   Attributed to Woody Allen

Yesterday I planned to write my “twenty minute non-inferring description” at the Barnes and Noble cafe. Surrounded by books, drinking hot chocolate–it’s a bibliophile’s dream.

But the night before, my niece calls. She’s in town for the weekend with her husband of almost a year and wants to meet my brothers and me for lunch.

I love Avery! She’s the outgoing “people person” of the family. We’ll meet at noon at the barbeque place. That’s fine with me, the almost vegetarian. After all, it’s for Avery:).

I stick my notebook and timer in the car. I’ll stop at the bookstore on the way home.

My family was the poster family for dysfunctional post WWII middle class Protestant whites growing up in the South. Alcoholic dad, mom with the “nervous breakdown,” three long-haired hippie children challenging everything around them. Leave It to Beaver we were not.

We, the siblings and a daughter from the next generation with her Jewish doctor husband, sit in a circle eating barbeque and touching on a range of topics.  The young couple’s plans to go to Italy next month, my musician brothers’ memories of early band days, a discussion of another niece— the sixteen year old ballerina, politics, the Seder Avery prepared. I take it all in.

Leaving the restaurant nearly two hours later, I’m exhausted and drive right past the bookstore.

“I could write about lunch with the family,” I think. “A twenty minute description without inference or judgment.”

What an enlightening experience!

Comments on: "Family Ties" (3)

  1. june dowis said:

    my favorite post yet.

  2. I have nominated you for the sunshine award. Visit http://marymeddlemore1.wordpress.com/ for details – Mary Meddlemore

Leave a Reply

Listening to Learn

Learning to Listen

Listening for Lessons

A Teacher and her Writing Practice

Writing Is My Drink

slake your thirst; find your voice

EventsForChange

~ creative ideas for making a difference ~

...the house I live in...

A journal of life pursued

