If you can see your path laid out in front of you step by step, you know it’s not your path. Your own path you make with every step you take. That’s why it’s your path.-—Joseph Campbell

The Learning Process

There is no end to education. It is not that you read a book, pass an examination, and finish with education. The whole of life, from the moment you are born to the moment you die, is a process of learning.  Jiddu Krishnamurti

 In a few minutes I will head to Walmart’s snack bar to complete my writing intention for this week.

Every day in a different setting for twenty minutes I write only what my senses told me– no inferring, no judging.

Day 1–A community garden

Day2–The children’s playground by the duck pond

Day 3–A barbeque restaurant with my brothers, a niece and her husband

Day 4–Barnes and Noble cafe

Day 5–The after school center where I work

Day 6–The Toyota service waiting room

My thoughts?

Twenty minutes during day 4 and 6 was only enough time to describe the surroundings. I stayed longer and began describing interactions (which began to challenge the inferring and judging tendencies.)

Day 5,  sitting outside with my notebook and pen while the children played before class, drew more attention to myself than I wanted.

Today at the Walmart snack bar could be interesting.

For the next week’s intention I want to try this again, except I will write in the same place everyday. I will also spend time acclimating myself to the setting before I begin writing, so that the focus will be on interactions.

My writer friend Lynda who waits tables at a local coffee shop says I should come there, and I probably will, but I feel the need to order food to justify taking a table for so long. This could cost me. Can such an experience be tax deductible?

Leave a Reply

Listening to Learn

Learning to Listen

Listening for Lessons

A Teacher and her Writing Practice

Writing Is My Drink

slake your thirst; find your voice

EventsForChange

~ creative ideas for making a difference ~

...the house I live in...

A journal of life pursued

