If you can see your path laid out in front of you step by step, you know it’s not your path. Your own path you make with every step you take. That’s why it’s your path.-—Joseph Campbell

Surrender to the Feeling

So when you are listening to somebody, completely, attentively, then you are listening not only to the words, but also to the feeling of what is being conveyed, to the whole of it, not part of it.  Jiddu Krishnamurti

The tragedy of life is in what dies inside a man while he lives – the death of genuine feeling, the death of inspired response, the awareness that makes it possible to feel the pain or the glory of other men in yourself.  Norman Cousins

All of our reasoning ends in surrender to feeling.  Blaise Pascal

I’m a haiku beginner. Still unsure if I’m “doing it right,”  a critique session sounds dangerously close to criticism session to me.

But yesterday at the haiku critique I wasn’t listening for a 5-7-5 syllable, three lines about nature format that I had learned in school.

I wanted to know if the words stirred me, drew me into the moment, sang.

Pamela said she had an art teacher who said, “A good painter follows the rules; a master breaks them and it makes it work.”

That thought felt good.

Leave a Reply

Listening to Learn

Learning to Listen

Listening for Lessons

A Teacher and her Writing Practice

Writing Is My Drink

slake your thirst; find your voice

EventsForChange

~ creative ideas for making a difference ~

...the house I live in...

A journal of life pursued

