If you can see your path laid out in front of you step by step, you know it’s not your path. Your own path you make with every step you take. That’s why it’s your path.-—Joseph Campbell

It Is What It Is

I have a hard time with that saying. Me, whose goal in life is to save the world, can hear that as an excuse…but I’m learning. I just need to be more aware of what saving the world means for me.

Last night I attended the local National Haiku Poetry Day celebration. We went around the room reading one haiku after another. Yikes! These people have been writing haiku for forever. They were good! Bouncing off of each other, composing on the spot, pulling things from memory. I felt like Charlie Brown when he brought a rubber ducky for show and tell. Breathe, Laura. And enjoy.

Ah, I was saving the world from my needy, whiny self.

Next week I will work non-stop (or so it will seem) for eight days at Artbreak, the area’s children’s arts festival. In addition to my four afternoons of part-time work. I love this gig and plan on wearing a costume and using big props this year. Therefore, for the next four days I need to be using unscheduled time to get organized.

I’m planning on saving the world from my overwhelmed, last minute self.

Then there the news out of Waco, following the news out of Boston. How can I make peace with all of this?

Write poetry? Be with creative people? Do art with kids? I’ll bring my “best” self and pay attention.

For after all, the best thing one can do when it is raining is let it rain. – Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

My happiness grows in direct proportion to my acceptance, and in inverse proportion to my expectations. – Michael J. Fox

Because one believes in oneself, one doesn’t try to convince others. Because one is content with oneself, one doesn’t need others’ approval. Because one accepts oneself, the whole world accepts him or her. – Lao Tzu

Suffering begins to dissolve when we can question the belief or the hope that there’s anywhere to hide.  Pema Chodron

A little hint about my costume for Artbreak

A little hint about my costume for Artbreak

Comments on: "It Is What It Is" (2)

  1. Love your post and I often use that quote… hard as it is to swallow sometimes. Change begins in our own minds. Thanks for the like over on my blog as well!

  2. If there be sorrow, let it be
    for things unknown, unsaid, unrealized, withheld in the heart
    and forget me not. author unknown

    If I were a victim of one of the many tragedies that have occurred during the past year and God let me speak to my loved ones in a dream this is what I would sa

Leave a Reply

Listening to Learn

Learning to Listen

Listening for Lessons

A Teacher and her Writing Practice

Writing Is My Drink

slake your thirst; find your voice

EventsForChange

~ creative ideas for making a difference ~

...the house I live in...

A journal of life pursued

