If you can see your path laid out in front of you step by step, you know it’s not your path. Your own path you make with every step you take. That’s why it’s your path.-—Joseph Campbell

No Time Like the Present

1.  It’s the end of the college semester and there’s a stack of “paperwork” accumulating on this computer

2.  Through the windows of my sunroom where I am now sitting, raised vegetable beds are scattered across the yard catching the sun.

3.  My home insurance company is leaving the state next month and I must find another carrier.

4.  There are fourteen books, purchased from a recent book sale, lined up on my living room coffee table.

I want to ignore #1 and #3 and just go straight to #2 and #4.

museYou need a plan, Laura.

I can pick up the phone to call the insurance agent recommended by a friend.

I can give myself an hour of reading for every hour I spend on grading.

I can finish this post and go pick the last of the sugar snaps and a basketful of spinach…then maybe later today I’ll go get a couple more pepper plants:)

But first, a couple profound quotes…

There exists only the present instant… a Now which always and without end is itself new. There is no yesterday nor any tomorrow, but only Now, as it was a thousand years ago and as it will be a thousand years hence.  Meister Eckhart

You must live in the present, launch yourself on every wave, find your eternity in each moment. Henry David Thoreau

Comments on: "No Time Like the Present" (2)

  1. Heartwarming post and beautiful posts!
    thanks a lot for sharing. my book Situation is…comparable 🙂 …and my to-do list often, too. It makes me happy to read about people going about it like you do, often this is what I tend to do, too.
    Have a lovely day full of wonderful “nows”. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Listening to Learn

Learning to Listen

Listening for Lessons

A Teacher and her Writing Practice

Writing Is My Drink

slake your thirst; find your voice

EventsForChange

~ creative ideas for making a difference ~

...the house I live in...

A journal of life pursued

