If you can see your path laid out in front of you step by step, you know it’s not your path. Your own path you make with every step you take. That’s why it’s your path.-—Joseph Campbell

Why I Still Write

I’m back…with trepidation.

Tomorrow I’m the featured writer for a writers’ group where I was once an active member. I’ve announced to my present writing group that I will be reading a couple of poems (not my own) and an essay (to be mine) “Why I Still Write.” Gulp. What was I thinking? Now I get to wrestle with that durn question.

Why do you still write, Laura?

Um, does morning pages count as writing?

I would think so. Do you write anything else?

Lists, lots of lists. And ten minute writes with writing buddies and my writing group.

What else?

Well, I’ve been steadily working on a story, five pages or so a day, but although I wanted it to be a novel, not about me, I’m all over it. Plus, I don’t know much about the details of structuring a novel and that part gives me the creeps.

So, back to the original question, why do you still write?

Because it seems to be when you appear, and I like talking to you.

Aww, shucks.

And, when I do spend time talking with you, I seem more confident when I’m in public. My voice works better, like I’m not so self-conscious.

Hmm.

What does that mean?

What do you want it to mean?

That I said something worth thinking about.

Interesting.

Like that.

OK, so writing for you is confidence building?

Yeah, but is that the only reason I am still writing?

I don’t know.

That wasn’t the answer I wanted..

Sorry. Why don’t you take some of that confidence out in the “real” world and see what you find. We can talk about it later.

Umm, OK.

…we all need the reassuring and healing messages that treasured rituals provide.  Sarah Ban Breathnachwriting.doc

Leave a Reply

Listening to Learn

Learning to Listen

Listening for Lessons

A Teacher and her Writing Practice

Writing Is My Drink

slake your thirst; find your voice

EventsForChange

~ creative ideas for making a difference ~

...the house I live in...

A journal of life pursued

