If you can see your path laid out in front of you step by step, you know it’s not your path. Your own path you make with every step you take. That’s why it’s your path.-—Joseph Campbell

The Story Factor

The Universe is showing you the way.

Yeah, right.

Tell them what happen to you yesterday.

Well, it was pretty neat.

Go on.

OK OK…I go to my regular Friday get together with mostly retired school teacher friends. Happy hour at the Mexican restaurant. We call it margarita therapy. Grace brings her daughter, a lovely 23 year old young woman, who when she was seven was in my Sunday school class. Well, she orders a margarita with a Dos Equis turned upside down in it. Whoa…the old school marms are impressed.

Keep going.

OK. I’m setting the stage. One of my afterschool kids, Marie, comes in with her family. I love this eight year old. She’s happily in her own creative world. I call her name and she skips over to me and gives me a hug. Steps back, grins at me and gives me another. It feels wonderful.

And then…

Hey, these are important parts of my story.

OK

Grace gets a call. Her friend is on the way. A few minutes later in walks Annette Simmons. Well, I know that name. Know she’s friends of some of my more creative friends. But there’s more. I have suspected she is the daughter of a woman I taught with more than thirty years ago. And she wrote a book, several in fact. But the one I know something about is The Story Factor. I actually own a copy. Whoa! Six degrees of separation is now down to maybe one or two.

The Universe

Whatever…We talk. I realize I don’t know how to describe what I write or where I think I’m going with it. (Note to self) She’s got lots of energy and experience. It feels wonderful. (also noted)

You and your notebook 

Hey, whatever works. Later when I get home I pull The Story Factor off the shelf and begin reading. OMG. The words connect. I know I’ve read some of it before, but I’m seeing it differently now. Breathe, Laura. Now in addition to The Poisonwood Bible that I need to finish before book club this week and The Dude and the Zen Master that I’m halfway into, I want to find time for The Story Factor. And in two hours I’m going to be at a sculpting workshop led by a truly wonderful creative.

Breathe, Laura. And enjoy.

To be a person is to have a story to tell.  Isak Dinesen

Leave a Reply

Listening to Learn

Learning to Listen

Listening for Lessons

A Teacher and her Writing Practice

Writing Is My Drink

slake your thirst; find your voice

EventsForChange

~ creative ideas for making a difference ~

...the house I live in...

A journal of life pursued

