If you can see your path laid out in front of you step by step, you know it’s not your path. Your own path you make with every step you take. That’s why it’s your path.-—Joseph Campbell

Other people have other plans. I, the oldest child and only daughter, would say this to my mom when I was quite young. Was I trying to claim myself? Was I telling her I didn’t care how others did it? I don’t know. Our relationship was a constant struggle.

But I wonder now if it was my own personal koan, advice for myself to take me through life. The words to allow others’ their own path as I listen for my own. Telling me of ego, or spirit, or energy. Mine and everyone else’s.

I am a child of God. And so is everyone is, Laura.

In last night’s book club discussion of The Poisonwood Bible I read the quote from Leah, one of four daughters of a zealous missionary who took his family to the Congo. She said…

Watching my father, I’ve seen how you can’t learn anything when you’re trying to look like the smartest person in the room.

Comments on: "Other People Have Other Plans" (6)

  1. Love that last line! So true.

  2. I love that you were able to access such a wise ‘guide’ to living so young.

    And I don’t remember reading those words in The Poisonwood Bible, but I do remember feeling anger towards the zealous missionary (and other things this book pointed to).

    Thanks for this post. I’ve just shared your blog, via the words of Joseph Cambell, to fans of my Facebook page.

    Steve

  3. Good Morning! I have just nominated your blog for the Super Sweet Blog Awards, congratulations! See my post for more info,

Leave a Reply

Listening to Learn

Learning to Listen

Listening for Lessons

A Teacher and her Writing Practice

Writing Is My Drink

slake your thirst; find your voice

EventsForChange

~ creative ideas for making a difference ~

...the house I live in...

A journal of life pursued

