If you can see your path laid out in front of you step by step, you know it’s not your path. Your own path you make with every step you take. That’s why it’s your path.-—Joseph Campbell

Solved by Walking

My yellow squash has been attacked by the dreaded squash vine borer. But not before I was able to harvest several pounds of mature fruit.

The sprawling plants are now only large flowers at the ends of withering stems. That’s probably the end of this year’s crop.

After early morning garden chores, feeding and watering six cantankerous chickens for a vacationing friend and retrieving mail and the newspaper for another, I go for a walk.

On the park trail I have an idea. People eat squash blossoms! I knew they could be fried, but there must be other options. I find a recipe for squash blossom quesadillas at http:homesicktexan.blogspot.com.  And I can use the last of my cilantro before it goes to seed. squash1

All truly great thoughts are conceived by walking.   Friedrich Nietzsche

Me thinks that the moment my legs begin to move, my thoughts begin to flow.  ~Henry David Thoreau

Solvitur ambulando, St. Jerome was fond of saying.  To solve a problem, walk around.  ~Gregory McNamee

Thoughts come clearly while one walks.  ~Thomas Mann

Walking is also an ambulation of mind. ~Gretel Ehrlich

Above all, do not lose your desire to walk.  Every day I walk myself into a state of well-being and walk away from every illness.  I have walked myself into my best thoughts, and I know of no thought so burdensome that one cannot walk away from it.  ~Soren Kierkegaard

Comments on: "Solved by Walking" (2)

  1. june rose dowis said:

    I laugh now every time I read the word chickens. You are a good friend!

Leave a Reply

Listening to Learn

Learning to Listen

Listening for Lessons

A Teacher and her Writing Practice

Writing Is My Drink

slake your thirst; find your voice

EventsForChange

~ creative ideas for making a difference ~

...the house I live in...

A journal of life pursued

