If you can see your path laid out in front of you step by step, you know it’s not your path. Your own path you make with every step you take. That’s why it’s your path.-—Joseph Campbell

Who I Am

Before I can tell my life what I want to do with it, I must listen to my life telling me who I am.  Parker Palmer

I have been listening…trying one idea after another.

Yes you have.

But other people seem so certain about themselves.

Haven’t you felt that way before?

Yeah, then life steps in and mixes things up, leaving me with doubts and a shaky foundation. Then I wonder if I’m really who I think or say I am.

Who are you today?

A bunch of questions and ideas. Listen…I have this idea…I could write the Palmer quote in a little notebook and go about my day. A gardening seminar, lunch with a friend, some reading, a trip to the grocery store…and those words would be right there, like a foundation for the day. Pretty much what I do with this blog. But then tonight before I go to bed I’d do a timed writing going back to the quote as my topic to see what happened.

ok…

You know when I say these things out loud, they really sound silly.

Silly? It sounds to me like something you want to try. Go ahead and do it. Let me know how it goes.

ok…

Comments on: "Who I Am" (11)

  1. I love your little inner conversations – glad I’m not the only one who does that kind of thing!

  2. I have nominated you for a Supersweet Blog Award!

  3. Reblogged this on Teacher as Transformer and commented:
    Anytime I come across a Parker Palmer quote it is a great way to begin the day. Parker suggested we spend too much time wondering what we are, why we do certain things, and how we do those things. Those are all important questions, but ‘who I am’ should lead them. Who is the person that leads this life? It takes time and quiet to sit and visit with that person.

  4. He has a habit of summarizing meetings with Haiku. Some of his best quites come from those :>)

  5. […] Who I Am (itstartedwithaquote.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

Listening to Learn

Learning to Listen

Listening for Lessons

A Teacher and her Writing Practice

Writing Is My Drink

slake your thirst; find your voice

EventsForChange

~ creative ideas for making a difference ~

...the house I live in...

A journal of life pursued

