If you can see your path laid out in front of you step by step, you know it’s not your path. Your own path you make with every step you take. That’s why it’s your path.-—Joseph Campbell

Open to Creativity

In order to be open to creativity, one must have the capacity for constructive use of solitude. One must overcome the fear of being alone.   Rollo May

For most of the last two weeks after writing morning pages, I take a walk in the park that reminds me of Girl Scout camp, my favorite childhood setting. You know, that place they tell you to imagine when you meditate.

Sounds like a great way to start the day.

It is. And then before it gets too hot I work in the garden. Today I picked two more tomatoes and a bowl full of beans. The corn is almost ready.

Yum.

And during the day I’ve been reading. A lot.

OK. I’m wondering why you  are telling me all of this when you know I already know it.

Because there’s something else.

Spit it out.

Well five days ago I started taking the quote from my morning post and watching how it plays through my day, knowing that at the end of the day I will write a ten minute free write in response to it. With this focus all my little routines become so much richer… hell, my whole day feels so much richer. It’s like I’m being me and watching what it means to be me.

Very cool.

So, wise one, how do I share this with others?

Looks like you just did.

Comments on: "Open to Creativity" (6)

  1. june rose dowis said:

    one of my favorite posts yet 🙂

  2. Such interesting thoughts, and thanks for that awesome quote 😉

  3. I’m so enjoying these posts since you started carrying the quotes around with you. I can really feel that it’s feeding you deeply, it’s radiating out of the screen! Thanks so much for sharing that creative inspiration.

Leave a Reply

Listening to Learn

Learning to Listen

Listening for Lessons

A Teacher and her Writing Practice

Writing Is My Drink

slake your thirst; find your voice

EventsForChange

~ creative ideas for making a difference ~

...the house I live in...

A journal of life pursued

