If you can see your path laid out in front of you step by step, you know it’s not your path. Your own path you make with every step you take. That’s why it’s your path.-—Joseph Campbell

Listening to My Life

The privilege of a lifetime is being who you are.  Joseph Campbell

Day 9…

I started this project with a quote from Parker Palmer…

Before I can tell my life what I want to do with it, I must listen to my life telling me who I am. 

And that seems to be what I am doing…

Yesterday I spent several hours cleaning the little cottage in my brother’s backyard before he rents it to a quiet single young man. This little cottage is located in what was once our family’s backyard. We called the “cottage” a guest house then. My grandfather lived in it for a short time, my musician brothers held band rehearsals in it at different times, and it served as a storage unit for me after I moved home from Mississippi.  My father was the first to rent it out…to a guy with a messy parrot. Lots of history here.

Needless to say it’s a mess.

But several weeks back I helped my best friend clean her new science classroom. The former occupant was not nearly as neat or organized as Cathy, so I became the recipient of a crash course in being neat and organized just trying to keep up with her.

It’s what I now bring to the guest house/cottage.

And do I need to state the obvious? It’s being rented to a quiet single young man. Ten and 1/2 years ago my only child, a quiet single young man, took his life. I guess I’m just still trying to mother.

  • Who I Am (itstartedwithaquote.wordpress.com)
Comments on: "Listening to My Life" (4)

  1. The simple act of cleaning has the capacity to also clean and cleanse us within…offering healing and grace…H xxx

  2. yeah…it felt really good…

  3. There will always be those who will benefit from the love we would have gladly showered upon our children, but no longer can from this plane –
    I know of which I speak and bravo to you for reaching out to help.

Leave a Reply

Listening to Learn

Learning to Listen

Listening for Lessons

A Teacher and her Writing Practice

Writing Is My Drink

slake your thirst; find your voice

EventsForChange

~ creative ideas for making a difference ~

...the house I live in...

A journal of life pursued

